Western Australia opens 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program

Western Australia opens 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program

Western Australia opens 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program

Western Australia has opened its 2023-24 Skilled Migration Nomination Program for eligible applicants.

Eligible visas for the 2023-24 Skilled Migration Nomination Program are the Skilled Nominated visa (subclass 190) and the Skilled Work Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 491).

Some new changes have been made to the 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program, including making the process easier for skilled migration applicants to connect to employers and jobs in Western Australia.

Other changes to Western Australia opens 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program include:

  • Equal invitations for both onshore and offshore candidates;
  • Prioritising invitations for applicants belonging to critically deemed occupations in Western Australia; and
  • Reduced employment requirements for applicants invited through an occupation in Western Australia’s building and construction sector.

To obtain a nomination for Western Australia’s 2023-24 Skilled Migration Program, candidates need to meet the main eligibility requirements, which include:

  • Meeting the eligibility requirements for the intended visa subclass as determined by Australia’s Department of Home Affairs;
  • Having the nominated occupation on Western Australia’s relevant occupations list; and
  • Meeting the minimum English requirements.

Skilled migration applicants will have two streams to apply under: the General and Graduate streams.

The General stream is a pathway for a number of occupations and industry categories that are comparable to an Australian Certificate IV and above.

General stream requirements include:

  • Having at least one year’s work experience in Australia or overseas in a nominated (or closely related) occupation (subclasses 190 and 491);
  • Having a full-time employment contract in Western Australia for at least six months in the nominated (or closely related) occupation (subclass 190).

On the other hand, the Graduate stream is a pathway for eligible international students completing their vocational education and training (VET) or higher education qualifications, such as a Bachelor’s degree or above.

Graduate stream requirements include:

  • Having an Australian Certificate III or above qualification from an accredited educational institution in Western Australia;
  • Meeting two years of Western Australia study requirements.

Candidates whose occupations are listed on Western Australia’s Skilled Migration Occupation List, and who meet the stream-specific requirements, are likely to be eligible for a nomination from Western Australia under the specific stream.