Newfoundland and Labrador launch new pathway for skilled migration to Canada

skilled migration to Canada

Newfoundland and Labrador launch new pathway for skilled migration to Canada

The Canadian province of Newfoundland and Labrador has launched a new pathway for skilled migration to Canada, with applications being accepted from January 2021.

The new pathway, titled “Priority Skills Newfoundland and Labrador,” will target highly educated and skilled individuals specializing in sectors such as technology and ocean sciences, where the demand for new employees has far outgrown the availability of suitably qualified local talent.

This new immigration program will be open for application to candidates who have prior work experience in specialized, highly skilled and high-demand occupations for at least one year.

Masters or Doctorate graduates from Newfoundland and Labrador’s Memorial University within the last three years will also be able to apply for skilled Canadian migration under this immigration program.

This new pathway to skilled migration to Canada promises to be a highly popular immigration program among eligible candidates, as similar programs account for up to 70 per cent of all approved immigration applications in other Canadian provinces.

Speaking on the new program, Newfoundland and Labrador’s Minister of Immigration, Skills and Labour, Honourable Gerry Byrne, said that newcomers to the province would have the opportunity to have full careers and raise families in Newfoundland and Labrador.

Individuals with work experience in occupations listed as in-demand by the province will be considered for skilled migration to Canada. The eligible fields include:

  • Software Developer
  • Biomedical Engineer
  • UI/UX Developer
  • Electrical Engineer
  • AI Developer
  • Mechanical Engineer
  • Python Developer
  • .NET Developer
  • Infrastructure Engineer
  • Security Specialist
  • Cloud Specialist
  • Bioinformation
  • Computer Network Support

In addition to previous work experience, immigration candidates must also display their language proficiency by taking either an International English Language Testing System (IELTS) or Canadian English Language Proficiency Index Program (CELPIP) and achieving a score equivalent to Canadian Language Benchmark (CLB) level 5 or higher.