Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List announced by Australian government

Skilled Visa Australia

Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List announced by Australian government

The Australian government has announced a Priority Migration Skilled Occupation List (PMSOL) in a bid to start the country’s economic recovery by creating jobs following the coronavirus pandemic.

In a media release, Alan Tudge, the acting Minister for Immigration, Citizenship, Migrant Services and Multicultural Affairs, introduced the PMSOL, which consists of 17 occupations with express processing benefits.

The occupations are:

  • Chief Executive or Managing Director (ANZSCO 111111)
  • Construction Project Manager (ANZSCO 133111)
  • Mechanical Engineer (ANZSCO 233512)
  • General Practitioner (ANZSCO 253111)
  • Resident Medical Officer (ANZSCO 253112)
  • Psychiatrist (ANZSCO 253411)
  • Medical Practitioner NEC (ANZSCO 253999)
  • Midwife (ANZSCO 254111)
  • Registered Nurse (Aged Care) (ANZSCO 254412)
  • Registered Nurse (Critical Care and Emergency) (ANZSCO 254415)
  • Registered Nurse (Medical) (ANZSCO 254418)
  • Registered Nurse (Mental Health) (ANZSCO 254422)
  • Registered Nurse (Perioperative) (ANZSCO 254423)
  • Registered Nurses NEC (ANZSCO 254499)
  • Developer Programmer (ANZSCO 261312)
  • Software Engineer (ANZSCO 261313)
  • Maintenance Planner (ANZSCO 312911)

The occupations were selected based on expert advice from the National Skills Commission and after consultation with Commonwealth departments.

Visas included for PMSOL occupations and priority processing include the following:

  • Employer Nomination Scheme visa (subclass 186)
  • Regional-Sponsored Migration Scheme visa (subclass 187)
  • Temporary Skill Shortage visa (subclass 482)
  • Skilled Employer-Sponsored Regional (Provisional) visa (subclass 494)

Holders of these visas need to obtain a travel exemption before travelling to Australia and self-quarantine for 14 days strictly upon arriving in the country.